Mozambique replaces Kenya as a member of the UN Security Council

3 Min Read

Mozambique has replaced Kenya as a member of the United Nation’s Security Council following the end of a two-year stint by East Africa’s most powerful country.

Kenya joined the council for the third time on June 18, 2020 and her term came to an end at the turn of the new year 2023.

In a fare well statement Ambassador Martin Kimani who was representing Nairobi at the UN said he will in the coming days communicate the lessons that have been learnt.

“Our work in the Security Council is done, and to mark the occasion, I am wearing the National Defense College tie in honor of the men and women of Kenya Defense Forces who exemplify what UN stands for.”

- Advertisement -

“In the coming days, I will communicate some of the important lessons we learned but for now, all I feel is an overwhelming gratitude for the opportunity,” Kimani added in a statement published on December 31, 2022.

The ambassador was in February last year lauded globally for taking a strong stand in Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

“Kenya registers its strong concern and opposition to the recognition of Donetsk and Luhansk as independent states,” he said at that time.

“We further strongly condemn the trend in the last few decades of powerful states breaching international law with little regard,” said the ambassador.

His strong stand against Russia’s invasion of Ukraine won him accolades including from United States President Joe Biden on December 12, 2022.

“The United States greatly appreciates Kenya’s leadership and efforts in advancing democracy and security in the region and her contribution as a member of the United Nations Security Council,” Bided noted in a congratulatory message.

The UN has 10 non-permanent members of the Security Council and five permanent members. The permanent members of the council who each have veto powers comprise of; China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The non-permanent members are elected on a two-year rotational plan and they comprise; five nations from Africa and Asia, two countries from Latin America, and two nations from Western Europe.

With Kenya’s tenure ending, Mozambique joins Ghana and Gabon as non-permanent members representing Africa.

Kindly leave a comment

Share this Article
Leave a comment